11 Sep About California’s Statute Of Limitations And What It Means
Each state has a “statute of limitations” which means there are time limits that lawsuit can be filed in order to charge the offender. If that time period since the crime has passed, that person cannot be charged. The statute of limitations will vary depending on the crime and situation, and the clock for the time period will typically start when the crime occurred or when the crime was revealed to have happened. Here are common statutes of limitations and crimes under them:
- 1 year – typically for misdemeanor crimes such as DUIs and drug possession.
- 3 years – for crimes that are punishable by 1-7 years in prison, such as fraud and trespassing.
- 6 years – for crimes that are punishable by 8 or more years in prison, such as rape and arson
- No statute of limitation – for very serious crimes that are punishable by life in prison or death such as murder and kidnapping.
These are the general guidelines for statute of limitations in California but as always, there is some movement for special situations.
No matter how long ago a crime was committed, Riverside Bail Bonds can always bail the offender out of jail as long as they are eligible for bail as determined by the judge.