It has been over half a year since Californians voted to legalize marijuana for the state. However, in the public eye, it seems like there has been no change in the ability, freedom, and ease of growing, using, selling, and purchasing it. This is because the state first needs to lay out all the regulations, and they have until January 1, 2018 to do this. Since the November election, bills have been moving through legislation so the state is certainly working to meet their deadline. One bill that just passed the Senate is Assembly Bill 110.
Assembly Bill 110 mentions the use of marijuana at select local and state fairgrounds. This would mean California could have dedicated weed festivals that essentially act like a music festival, except instead of purchasing a ticket to listen to music, people would purchase tickets to legally buy marijuana and smoke it at one collective location with others who are there to enjoy the same thing. Privately-owned venues such as the Pomona Fairplex would be exempt from the bill.
Supporters like this because it is a way for people to gather and smoke marijuana legally, safely, and away from the public who would rather not inhale or smell marijuana. Nonetheless, there are people who are not too thrilled about the idea of marijuana festivals and the bill.
Assembly Bill 110 is not yet 100% passed, as it still must get approvals from other government departments. As we wait to hear more on that, we can look at what we do know will regulate legalized marijuana:
- Penalties for most marijuana related offenses will be reduced from felonies to misdemeanors, and prior offenders can file to have their record changed to reflect this.
- Driving while smoking marijuana will be a DUI, as it has always been.
- Marijuana must be in a closed container when being transported.
- Anyone 21 and over may possess and use up to 1 ounce of marijuana.
- Anyone 21 and over may grow up to 6 marijuana plants in their home.
- Just like cigarettes cannot be smoked in public places such as restaurants, marijuana cannot be either.
These are just a handful of rules that are in effect now or will be put into effect soon. The state has many more complex regulations to get through, and we will learn them all by January 1, 2018.
There was a recent incident involving rape, Facebook, and what did or did not happen after the fact. An adolescent Chicago girl was raped by 5 or 6 males and the incident was streamed live on Facebook long enough for nearly 50 people to watch and know what was going on. None of those nearly 50 people reported the assault to the police. So, besides the males who attacked the girl, do those 50 or so people also get in trouble for witnessing it, but not speaking up? Here is a closer look at what the laws say about bystanders who become witnesses to crimes.
In the United States, if a person is a witness to a crime, they likely have no legal obligation to report it to the police. There are groups of people though who are required to report certain crimes, and it would be because of their profession. For example, doctors, nurses, law enforcement, social workers, and teachers are required to report certain crimes, like abuse and neglect, to the police, even if they just suspectthat it is occurring. If these people are required to report crimes but fail to do so, they can be charged a misdemeanor and face up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
There may be no legal obligation to report a crime, but there may be a moral obligation to do so. This means that a person who witnesses a crime may report it because they believe it is the right thing to do. They may or may not know that they do not legally have to do it or that they will not get arrested for failing to reporting a crime. If they believe they should contact the police because what they witnessed was wrong and they want some type of justice, they will report it. This is their moral obligation.
When it comes to witnessing crimes online, there are complicating factors. For example, witnesses may not accurately assess what they saw online or what they saw online may be a fake or manipulated video. For California, the same law applies. Someone who witnesses a crime happening through an online channel is not required to report it, and they will not be arrested for failing to do so.
In either case, witnessing a crime in person or online, the police may still track witnesses down to question them. By this point, the police will know they did not report the crime,but they will not be arrested. The police just want to take down a statement of what the witness saw and heard.
Many types of gambling are illegal in California, but at least Las Vegas is not too far away! It is worth noting that not all forms of gambling are outlawed in California. Here are some ways gamblers can get their fix without having to leave California:
- Indian Casinos–These are similar to Vegas-style casinos with card tables, bingo, and slot machines. These casinos are built on Indian land and are protected. This is why they are allowed to operate in California.
- Card Clubs–Players must pay a fee in order to participate. Instead of betting against other players, they are betting against the “house.”
- Parimutuel Horse Wagering–This style is where bets are pooled so they are betting against each other instead of the “house.” The pool is divided among the multiple winners, after taxes. In California, this style of gambling is only allowed in horse racing.
- Charity–In California, the only game allowed to gamble on and have the proceeds go to charity is Bingo.
- Lottery– California participates in the Mega Millions and SuperLotto Plus, among other state lotteries. California also manages the California Lottery.
When it comes to hosting a poker night with the guys at home, and the group wants to place money on the table, it is completely legal as long as the host does not act as the “house” and take their earnings as a business venture profit. In addition, there is a cap on how much money can be gambled between friends: $2,000.
If you cannot make it to Vegas and want to test your luck to try and win some money, you can always go to an Indian casino since there are many within California.Alternatively, you can call up some friends for a game night.
As you know, California passed Prop 64 last November, making marijuana usage legal in California. However,as you might expect, the prop is not that simple to follow. There are details and complexities written within the prop and forthcoming laws.There are regulations and concerns that must be addressed. Here is what you should know right now:
- Anyone over the age of 21 can use, possess, and share up to one ounce of flowers or eight grams of concentrate of marijuana.
- Anyone over the age of 21 can grow marijuana at home. What is tricky now is that a person cannot purchase a cannabis plant. Rather, they must receive it from another person who is already growing marijuana, and there must be no money transfer. In addition, no more than 6 plants may be grown at home at one time.
- The state has until January 1, 2018 to get through all the rules and red tape so they can begin issuing licenses to marijuana businesses. Do not expect many stores to be ready to sell product until 2018 unless a customer has a medical card or license.
- Similar to how smoking cigarettes and tobacco in public is illegal, smoking and/ or ingesting marijuana in public is illegal.
- If a person plans on traveling outside of California, they cannot take marijuana with them and vice versa.No outside marijuana is allowed to be brought into California.
- Being under the influence of marijuana and driving at the same time is illegal, no matter how much or how little was smoked.
The state and local and federal governments will continue to flush out the laws on marijuana use in California over the next year.There will be state-wide laws and then there will be more localized laws by county or city. It will be a slow transition until everything is ready to go.
If you are a marijuana user, the safe bet is to stay up-to-date on news and changes with the marijuana laws so you do not accidentally get into trouble.
$45,000. That is the low end of the average cost of what a first time DUI can cost you in California. Knowing this, wouldn’t you rather pay $20 for a Lyft or Uber home from the bar? Let’s break that figure down.
- Insurance–This is the highest DUI related cost. Insurance will go up year after year after a DUI.
- Towing and Storage– Yourcar is impounded and to get it back, it is going to cost over $500.
- DUI classes–Thiswill cost around the same as the towing and storage.
- Fines and Attorney Fees–You will be going to court for that DUI, so you will want a good lawyer to help protect, and fight for, you. This can go up a few thousand dollars.
- Driver’s License–After a DUI, your license is revoked. It costs about $100 to get it back, once you are allowed to get it back.
Again, $45,000 is the low end of the DUI spectrum. Other things we did not account for, but could be a factor, is the cost to fix your vehicle and the cost of hospital bills if your DUI resulted in an accident. Each DUI will also cost more than one before. Do yourself a favor and just pay for a cab ride.
We will help you post bail affordably.
If you ever need a bail bond for yourself, or a loved one, contact Riverside Bail Bonds online, or at 951-684-4484
January has passed and it is time we check in on those New Year Resolutions of yours. How do you think you are doing? We know you are trying to kick your bad habits while also helping loved ones of yours get rid of theirs. Are you making progress, achieving success, or facing mishaps?
It is all right if you had mishaps along the way. Getting rid of old habits is hard and we are prone to make mistakes and errors along the way. If a loved one of yours had a really rough time and wound up in jail, there is something you can do. All you need is to get some help from Riverside Bail Bonds, and we will help get your loved one out of jail by posting bail.
We will provide you with an affordable bail bond and a customized payment plan. The jail will process the paperwork and all you need to do is make sure your loved one shows up for court and makes the bail bond payments on time.
You can learn more about bail bonds and get a free consultation anytime. Let Riverside Bail Bonds help you all get back on track to having the best year yet.
We can be reached online, and at 951-684-4484 .
Valentine’s Day is approaching. This is a day filled with extra love, not just for significant others, but also for families and friends. Everyone has someone they can say “I love you” to, and in turn, everyone deserves to hear it from another person. If you have a loved one in jail, bail them out so you can hug them and tell them “I love you”this Valentine’s Day.”
Riverside Bail Bonds can help facilitate their release by providing the bail bond and customized payment plan. In sum, you will be paying 10% of the full bail amount over a certain amount of time. We will work with your financial situation, and create a schedule that works with your budget.
Let us help get your loved one home in time for Valentine’s Day? Jail is not a place where they will feel the Valentine’s spirit. The best place to celebrate the holiday is at home,in your arms. Do not wait another minute, get the bail bond process started today.
Riverside Bail Bonds can be reached 24/7, both online, and at 951-684-4484 .
Did you know that a person who is out on bail is more likely to show up for their court dates? One of the biggest reasons this is true is that their current release could not have happened if it were not for the bail bond co-signer and/ or anyone who pledged collateral.
If the defendant fails to appear in court, the co-signer feels the consequences and the collateral is taken away. So loved ones are betting on the defendant to show up in court; the defendant does not want to let their loved ones down. They want to prove to them, and to everyone, that they can handle this situation maturely and responsibly. This is why they are more likely to show up for court.
When you bail a friend or family member out of jail, you become a part of that person’s support group.You will help make sure your loved one gets to all of his or her court appearances on time, thus ensuring your loved one makes good choices.
If you have questions on bail bonds, or would like a free consultation, speak with a bail agent from Riverside Bail Bonds anytime online, or at 951-684-4484 .
Did you know that besides issuing bail bonds to defendants who are already in jail, Moreno Valley Bail Bond Store can also conduct free, anonymous warrant searches for individuals who are not under arrest? If you are wondering if there is a warrant out for your arrest, or for a loved one of yours, you can ask Moreno Valley Bail Bond Store to check the databases for you.
If it just so happens that you, or your loved one, indeed are wanted, we can discuss your bail options before you turn yourself in. Then, once you have been arraigned, you can post bail with a bail bond from us immediately, ensuring your release.
With our help, you will spend as little time in jail as possible.In some cases, we will even be able to set up the bail bond before you turn yourself in, thus shortening your stay behind bars.If you think you might have a warrant out for your arrest, be sure to talk to one of the professionals here at Moreno Valley Bail Bond Store.
Learn more about Moreno Valley Bail Bond Store by chatting with a representative online, or at 951-684-4484 .
It looks like California may be on its way out of a drought. We have seen more rain this year, than we have the last few years. With that being said, how up-to-date is your knowledge on driving in wet weather? Do you know the best precautions to take and what tips to follow to practice safe driving? Here is Riverside Bail Bonds’s checklist for wet-weather driving:
- Make sure all vehicle lights are working properly: headlights, tail lights, brake lights, signal lights, daytime running lights, high beams, interior lights.
- Make sure windshield wipers are working and in good condition.
- Make sure your car horn is working.
- Check your brakes.
- Check air levels in tires and the tire treads.
- Take note that the first rainy day after a dry spell always produces the slipperiest roads.
- Brake sooner than you normally would. This gives you extra space between you and the car ahead and gives the car behind you more time to react.
- Headlights must be on when the windshield wipers are in use, even if it is sunny.
- If you feel your car hydroplaning, take your foot off the gas, do not step on the brake. Keep a steady grip of your steering wheel and you will feel your car gain traction again.
- Drive at a slower speed and drive with more space between you and the car ahead.
Be extra alert when you are driving in the rain. Rainy weather causes more road accidents. Most accidents can be avoided if you simply take your time and be careful out there.
Corona Bail Bond Store is a 30 year old California bail bond company. What we do at Corona Bail Bond Store is work with families and friends of jailed defendants, those who were recently arrested and have yet to stand trial. Together, we bail those loved ones out of jail using bail bonds that are much more affordable than 100% cash bail. Here is a quick rundown of what Corona Bail Bond Store offers:
- 24/7 availability throughout California
- Free consultations
- 0% interest
- No hidden fees
- Customized payment plans
- 20% discount available
- Fast, confidential, courteous service
- Friendly, professional, licensed agents
- Cash, credit, debit, and checks accepted
- Convenient and secure online payment portal
If you, or a loved one,are ever in need of a bail bond, please contact Corona Bail Bond Store. Consultations are free and require no commitment. However, considering our excellent reputation and track record, we are sure you will be pleased with our services.
Corona Bail Bond Store bail agents can be reached online and at 951-684-4484 .
When one person in the family is arrested, there is bound to be more drama to follow. It is such a tense and sensitive situation and every person in the family may have a different approach and reaction to handling the situation. How do we bring them home? Who can we hire as a lawyer? Do I need to take time off work? How can we afford all of this? How will this affect our reputation and relationships with people?
To answer the first question and ease your mind on that part, we at Riverside Bail Bonds are the solution. It is likely that your loved one is offered bail, meaning paying an amount of money to be released from jail. This can be by a cash bond, paying 100% of the bail amount directly to the court, or hiring a professional bail bondsman. The bail bondsman will issue a bail bond, which costs only 10% of the full bail amount and paid over a period of time. The 10% is not refundable, but even then, most people find using a bail bondsman rather than cash bail is more affordable and ideal.
Riverside Bail Bonds can help you bail your loved one out of jail quickly, returning them home to you where they belong. You will be there to welcome them home, to offer your love and support, and to be ready to work together to plan ahead for the next steps. With the bail bond process out of the way with our help, you will be much more unified and focused.
Contact Riverside Bail Bonds today online or at 800-793-2245 for a free consultation.