The coldest days are behind us for the year here in Southern California, but Northern California is still colder and the North-East is still getting snow. It sure would be nice to go from a warm home into a warm car so we do not endure the cold weather too long, or at all. Unfortunately, it is not that easy. Rather, it is not exactly legal here in California and much of the United States. By this, we mean that it is illegal to warm up a vehicle, and then get into it once it is nice and toasty.
Turning on the car to get it warm before you get in and drive off is called idling and it is actually a misdemeanor charge here in California that can give you a fine. There is actually a “grace period” or maximum idling time allowed in California and that is 5 minutes. Anything beyond that is where it becomes 100% illegal.
There are some exemptions to this 5 minute idling time, including, but not limited to:
- It is okay to leave a bus idling if passengers are on board.
- A bus driver can warm up the vehicle for 10 minutes before beginning to board the first group of passengers.
- Emergency vehicles are not required to obey the 5 minute idling period.
- Mechanics can keep the vehicle running if they need to inspect and/ or repair.
A person who disobeys the idling laws here in California and is caught doing so will be given a minimum fine of $300. Subsequent charges will increase the fine anywhere between $1,000 and $10,000.
All other states that have idling laws have different amounts of maximum idling time for a vehicle, like 30 minutes or just 3 minutes. Their fines are also different. Across the board, idling is either illegal or frowned upon because of the potential accidents and the extra air pollution, among other reasons.
Californians are urged to avoid idling their vehicles as much as possible. If you really cannot tough it out you have 5 minutes to warm up your car,and only 5 minutes.
Paying a parking ticket a few days late is one thing, but it is another thing to let a bunch of unpaid parking and traffic violation tickets stack up. If you think the DMV and parking enforcement forgot about your unpaid, overdue parking ticket, you are wrong. They are waiting for you to pay it off and if you do not, you may be ordered to appear in court to pay what you owe. If you do not show up, the court will issue a bench warrant for your arrest. There is no telling how long it will take for this to happen. It could be weeks,months, or even a year or two after that overdue parking ticket was issued. Just when someone has stopped worrying about that unpaid parking ticket, it will come back to haunt them.
On top of that, the amount you owe for those unpaid tickets will increase for being late, your car can be booted or impounded, your license can be suspended, and your insurance costs can go up. So what was initially a $60 or so parking ticket has now increased to hundreds. It will keep increasing the longer you put off paying that ticket. On top of that, you will be inconvenienced even more because you will need to take extra time to deal with the court, the police, the DMV, the impound lot, and your insurance.
Here is something else to think about: parking tickets do not appear on permanent records,but arrests do.
So next time you get a parking ticket, just pay it off! Why wait? Better yet,read the posted signs, and keep an eye on your watch and the parking meter.
California sets specific rules and laws for gun owners and how their guns are to be stored at home.They cannot just be left lying around! You would think this is common sense, but you would be surprised at how negligent some gun owners can be.
If gun owners to do not comply with the proper gun storage laws, they can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony if there are minors living in the home with them. Guns that are poorly stored can fall into the wrong hands, like a young child who reaches for the weapon and accidentally fires it. You have probably heard about real-life incidents such as this in the news at some point, whether or not it was a case that occurred in California or another state.
If a parent stores their loaded firearm in an unlocked drawer that their child can reach, they can be charged by the police.However, if the parent has that drawer locked, then it is less likely they will be charged because they have taken the proper steps and precaution to keep it inaccessible to the child.
The best way to store a gun at home is to keep it in a safe that remains locked at all times. There are actually lock boxes and safes that are specifically designed to store guns. In addition, guns should be stored unloaded, and guns and ammunition should be stored separately.
You can never be too careful with gun storage and children. Children are naturally curious and depending on their age, they may not know that a gun is a dangerous weapon. If you are a gun owner, do not give way for chance at a tragic accident. You could face fines and jail time, but you could also face injury or death of yourself, your child, or anyone else.That is a consequence you wouldhave to live with forever.
Every January 1st, a whole bunch of new laws go into effect in California. The new laws this year include the following:
- Minimum wage: any business that employs 26 or more people will be raising their minimum wages to $10.50,up $0.50 per hour. By 2022, it will be $15.
- Gun laws: anyone who previously owned magazines that hold more than 10 rounds are required to surrender them.Anyone who wishes to purchase ammunition must pass a background check each time.Just like civilians, law enforcement officers are required to securely store their handguns in a lockbox out of plain view.
- Cell phone use while driving: any app usage on a cell phone is prohibited while driving. The current law references texting only, but the new law expands to include GPS mapping, and social media.
- Epipens: Epipens may be stocked at businesses, colleges, and other private venues that have a plan in place to use them for individuals who need them at a moment’s notice.
There are many other laws that have gone into effect January 1, 2017, not just those above.
A search warrant is a court-order that allows the police to search specific property and items. Sometimes the police do not need a warrant,other times, they do. On those other times, the police will want to conduct the search, but not bring a warrant with them because they have yet to obtain it. The owners of the property may not be aware that they can deny the police the search until they return with the warrant. When the police do have a warrant, the property owner may not know what the warrant is for,so to help protect yourself, here is some information to know:
- The police must have probable cause of criminal activity in order to get a search warrant.
- The warrant will list the items and areas that can be searched. Anything not on the list cannot be searched. For example, if the warrant specifies a home’s living room, the police cannot search and seize anything they find in the bedroom.
- The police can seize items they come across during their search that are not on the search warrant. For example, if they are searching the living room and unexpectedly find a gun hidden under the couch, they can take that.
- The police may only search a person if that person is listed on the warrant. They cannot search others even if they are present at the time unless they have independent probable cause.
- If the police do not have a warrant, they can still conduct a search only if the person allows it. The person can limit the search by agreeing “yes to searching this” or “no to searching that.” This is usually valid for court.
- The police can seize items that are displayed in plain view. For example, if the police pull a person over and see an open bottle of alcohol in the back seat, they can seize it,and arrest the driver.
- If the police arrest a person, they already have the right to search the arrestee and the surrounding area.
- If the public is genuinely in danger and/ or critical evidence will be lost in the time it takes to acquire a warrant, the police can carry out a search without that warrant.
- In stop and frisk situations, the police can seize items (like weapons) from that person who is suspected of criminal activity.
The lines may still appear blurred for when police do or do not need a warrant, or for when a person can and cannot deny a search. So we recommend doing extra research or talking with a lawyer.
You might have thought the talk of elections and voting had ceased for awhile, but January 1, 2017 saw the start of a handful of new voting-related laws in California. Here they are:
1. Californians with low-level felony convictions now have the right to vote. One of the main reasons behind the passing of this new law is the note that many such felons serve their time outside of prison because California prisons are overcrowded.
2. Voters can now mail in their ballots at any county elections office in the state of California, not just the county who issued the ballot, making it easier to vote for many people.
3. Californians may register to vote on Election Day.Previously, registration would close 2 weeks before Election Day. If registering to vote on the day of the election, the voter has a conditional voter registration,meaning it will first be verified that they are eligible to vote before their vote is officially counted.
4. It is no longer illegal to snap a selfie of you and your ballot and then posting it on social media. There was definitely quite a bit of debate on this in the presidential election.
Aside from new voting laws, there are a slew of other new laws in California, including laws regarding guns and employment. Be sure to read up on them, it could help.
Saving money is an extremely good habit to have. Hopefully those savings will not need to be touched and can be put to things you are actually saving for like buying a home.However, when an emergency calls, you will at least have some money available. Here are some ways to save a little more money that individually are small, but collectively, can sum up to something quite large.
- Dine out at restaurants less and cook dinner at home more. Think about this: a plate of pasta (good for 1 person) at a restaurant can cost $15-$20, average. But cooking a pound of pasta (good to feed 3-4 people) at home can cost you around $10.
- Make grocery lists before going to the store by planning your meals. People who shop without a list tend to make more spontaneous purchases.
- If you donot really watch television, or know that you can catch all your favorites online, cancel your TV service. Sign up for Netflix or Hulu instead.
- Cancel your gym membership and workout at home or outdoors.
- You know how you are already splitting your check into percentages: savings, needs, leisure? Take 1% or 2% more from your leisure and put it towards savings.
There are so many ways, big and small, that can help you save money. Trust us, it is a smart habit and though we hope you will never need it for emergencies, you will be glad it is there in case you do.
Ringing in the New Year is not the same when you know a friend or family member of yours is missing out. Knowing that this loved one of yours is sitting depressed and alone in jail can spoil not only their fun, but yours as well.You would do anything you could to help get them out of jail. Thankfully, there is something you can do: solicit the help of Riverside Bail Bonds.
Riverside Bail Bonds serves all of California with their bail bond needs 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. With 30 years of industry experience, our family-owned company has grown to welcome dozens of licensed and professional bail agents and representatives. Our employees treat each client as if they are a member of their own family.You are promised fast, confidential, genuine care and concern, on top of that affordable bail bond and customized payment plan.
Contact Riverside Bail Bonds to take care of all your bail bond needs, including getting your loved one bailed out of jail in time for the New Year’s celebrations.
We can be reached online, or at 951-684-4484 .
There are different proceedings, rights, and consequences for someone 17 or younger who gets arrested versus someone 18 or older who is arrested. In most states, anyone 17 or younger is called a juvenile, and when they turn 18, they are called an adult. The differences are due to the fact that juveniles have less understanding of the law and are still considered minors.
- Juvenile hearings are heard by judges only, whereas an adult has a trial by a jury.
- Juveniles do not have the right to bail; they are released to the custody of their parents or legal guardians. Adults may be granted or denied bail.
- Juveniles do not have a public trial.
- On his or her 18th birthday, juvenile records are automatically sealed. So when they become an adult, their criminal record appears clean. However, the juvenile records still exist, but people who look into background history, like landlords and employers, cannot see these records.
Understanding these basic differences can help a great deal if you are suddenly in the middle of a situation yourself. If you, or your loved one,are 18 or over and has been granted bail, we strongly suggest you post bail with a bail bond fromRiverside Bail Bonds. Bail bonds are more affordable and, thus, more ideal to use than cash bail.
Get a free consultation when you contact us online or at 951-684-4484 .
Not all who are arrested are given the opportunity to be released on own recognizance, which is when a defendant signs formal papers promising to show up for court, then is released from jail. Most defendants are granted bail, meaning they have to pay money to the court in order to be released from jail. Some are denied bail altogether. What factors determine own recognizance and bail?
Who determines: The judge.
What factors contribute: A defendant’s prior criminal record, the current crime he or she is accused of, the ties and relationships the defendant has to others in the community, and their financial ability to pay for bail.
As you can probably guess, if a defendant has virtually no prior criminal history, has strong ties to the community, and the crime he or she is accused of is not very serious, then this defendant has a much better chance at being granted own recognizance release. It is not guaranteed, but the chances are certainly better.
For those who are granted bail, there are two options: cash bail, or a bail bond where a third party bail bond company steps in to assist. Before making a rash decision and going the cash bail route, please contact Riverside Bail Bonds.We will help you understand more about the bail bond industry and how our company can benefit you.We can help you save money and get you, or your loved one, bailed out of jail faster. It takes just a few minutes to contact Riverside Bail Bondsfor a free consultation.You will not regret it.
Riveride Bail Bonds may be reached 24/7 both online and at 951-684-4484 .
You want to start the New Year with the utmost positivity. Have this mentality: no matter what hardships you come face,or sudden obstacles come in your way, you are going to get through them. So, even getting arrested early on in the New Year should not bring you down. Tell yourself this was one mistake.You can deal with it, and you can move on.
Dealing with your arrest, and jail situation is not something you have to face alone. You know you have your friends and family members who you can rely on, but you also have the Riverside Bail Bonds team. We provide our services, to bail you out of jail with an affordable bail bond and customized payment plan that costs only 10% of the full bail amount.
Your arrest may be a hiccup in the New Year, but rest assured, with the right mindset, friends and family members, and the Riverside Bail Bonds team, the rest of your year will be much better. Hang in there.
Contact Riverside Bail Bonds for a free consultation and to get the bail bond paperwork started by chatting with a representative online or by calling 951-684-4484
Just when it seemed like your New Year’s celebrations were going perfectly, and you were going to make it home without issue, you find out that a friend of yours has been arrested. Now, instead of finally getting to fall into your bed and drift off into a deep slumber, you are calming your friend and trying to figure out who you can call for help. All you know is that you need to help bail your friend out of jail,but, who’s working on New Year’s at 4 AM?
Luckily for you, the answer to that, and all your bail bond needs, is Riverside Bail Bonds. Our company works 24/7 because we know that people are in need of bail bonds every day of the year, at every hour of the day,especially on holidays. Bail bonds cost 10% of the full bail amount, and you will be set up with a custom payment plan. Paying for bail is easier with Riverside Bail Bonds.
Yes, you will have to hold off on your sleep just a little longer, but not for too long. We promise to do this quickly for you.
Riverside Bail Bonds can be reached online, or at 951-684-4484 .